Anne Crichton Lecture

As part of the 35th annual UBC Centre for Health Services and Policy Research health policy conference, Fiona Clement delivered the inaugural Anne Crichton Lecture on March 10, 2023, at 8:45 am. Watch her lecture here.

A Health Economist’s Perspective on Value-Based Health Care in Canada

Speaker: Fiona Clement, Professor, Department of Community Health Sciences, University of Calgary

Provinces have been halting in their adoption of value-based frameworks that use patient and economic data in their decision-making. In the inaugural Anne Crichton Lecture, Dr Clement discussed current decision-making and options for moving value-based initiatives forward. The lecture was followed by responses from two discussants and audience Q&A.

The Anne Crichton Lecture is supported by the Crichton Health Systems and Policy Learning Fund. This new fund was created in honour of Dr Crichton and her immense contributions to the wellbeing of Canadians. The fund honours Dr Crichton’s commitment to improving BC’s and Canada’s health care systems by funding an annual prize and lecture by an outstanding scholar, on the health system and policy challenges that remain key to health promotion and the prevention of illness. Learn more about Anne Crichton and give to the fund.

Dr Fiona Clement, the inaugural lecturer, is Professor and Department Head of Community Health Sciences and Director of the Health Technology Assessment Unit within the O’Brien Institute for Public Health, at the University of Calgary. The Health Technology Assessment Unit is a policy responsive research unit that completes evidence synthesis, economic evaluations, health technology assessments and reassessments in response to decision-makers’ needs. Her research interests include drug and non-drug technology reimbursement and cost containment policy, evidence in decision-making, and evidence in health policy development. In 2014, she was selected as the Canadian Harkness fellow; a unique opportunity to study US healthcare policy. She has also received the Maurice McGregor Award for outstanding leadership and excellence in HTA in Canada. She is the first from Alberta to be awarded either of these awards. As a result, in 2015, she was named one of Calgary’s Top 40 under 40 for her work in health policy.